My top 10 favorite songs of 2012

In no particular order.  I’m excluding Icelandic music for a separate post.

Just a list of my top 10 favorite songs of 2012 for your enjoyment or criticism 🙂

The XX – Angels
For some reason I didn’t expect the XX to follow up their gorgeous debut with anything of similar quality.  Gladly I was very wrong…their second album far outclasses the debut and this song is just one big goosebump moment.

Gonjasufi – Nickels and Dimes
Gonjasufi is so different from anything else.  His music is just so compelling and I love how I can’t put a finger on why.  This album wasn’t as good as Sufi and a Killer but this is in my opinion the best song he has released so far.

Mark Lanegan – Gravedigger’s Song
It’s an undisbutable fact that Lanegan is the best living rock singer.  That’s just the way it is.  That voice!!  This song is his best since Screaming Trees.  No contest.  Great to see him in top form.

Grizzly Bear – Yet Again
This is how you secure your place as indie legends.  After 2 great albums came the masterpiece.

Perfume Genius – Hood
For 2-3 months this year I didn’t really listen to anything else.  It’s a gorgeous album and seeing him live at a small club here in Stockholm in the middle of summer was just beautiful.  My song of the year.

Metz – Rats
My album of the year.  Came out of nowhere and pretty much the best punk/noise rock I have heard.  The key is the amazing production here, similar to Steve Albini’s In Utero production.  Drums and guitars up front and vocals in the back.  Hits hard and just simply cool!

Neil Young – Ramada Inn
Neil is one of my top 5 favorite musicians of all time (The others are My Bloody Valentine, Radiohead, Boards of Canada and Tom Waits btw for those that are interested :)) and this was his best form in a long time.  16 minute epic full of feedback and minor chords!  Not that he’s been bad last decade… this is just his best possible form.  I really, really want to see him live again this tour!

Beach House – Myth
I don’t really know what to say about this one.  It just grabs you.  Such a gorgeous song!

Niki and the Dove – DJ, Ease my mind
Swedish hipster pop.  My weakness!  Taking the best elements from Robyn and The Knife.  Great album and they are really good live with plenty of improvisation, which was fun to see.

The Shins – Simple Song
I just love The Shins.  Mercer is one of the greatest classic songwriters this generation without a doubt.  It’s just the best kind of happy feelgood music.  I also think this new Shins lineup is better live than the old one.  A really solid concert in Stockholm last winter.

Other notables (I will update this list as I remember more and more that I’ve forgotten):

Orbital – One Big Moment
Dead Can Dance – Kiko
Meshuggah – The Demon’s name is surveilance
Snoop Lion – La La La
Mumford & Sons – Babel

Leave a Reply

